Moving Day

I have some upsetting news: my sister is no longer my roomie. She took a new job in Tampa requiring her to move out of our home. We have both been living at home (again) since we graduated college. For her, that was about 2 and a half years ago. For me, that was about 9 months ago. Living under the same roof again was so convenient and fun. Someone to go on a run with? Check. Someone to watch The Bachelor with? Check. Someone to laugh at mom and dad with? Check. Someone to borrow clothes from? Check. Someone to do just about everything with? Check. So you get the point, I’m going to miss her!!!

Since both attending college at UCF and living in the same city since then, I’ve gotten so used to having her close by. It’s weird to think for a full 2 years I was still in high school in PA and she was attending college here in Florida, that seems like forever ago. As much as I am going to miss her, I am so excited for her new start.

Fresh/new starts don’t happen that often, and to me, there is nothing more exciting. There is so much to look forward to: a new job to be awesome at, a new place to make your own, a new area to explore, and new friends to be made. It is obvious that getting to those exciting times is easier said than done. As much as it is exciting, it is also nerve-wracking and stressful. Kristin has spent the past month or so trying to decide if this job was the right one for her, and then once that decision was made, deciding where to live, what furniture she needs, etc. etc. As much as it would be nice to know for sure you are making the right decision, you really never will and many times if it feels right, you just have to take a leap of faith and I’m so happy Kristin did.

This past Friday was moving day. Unfortunately I couldn’t help because of work responsibilities, but I know I will be making lots of visits to Tampa in the future! Hopefully she will have a couch by then Winking smile. I’m so happy for her and thankful she is close enough to visit often.

What advice would you give to someone who is first out on their own? What do you look forward to most about a big chance, such as a move or new job?

2 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. Aww this post made me a little sad for you! Moving is both sad and exciting, which is natural for us at this age. Recently moving myself, I have most enjoyed exploring a new area on my own, finding my favorite little spots, and just paving my own way. Still working on making friends in this town…but slowly and surely it will happen. At least I have a roommate!

Leave a comment