WIOW

Happy hump day!! And WIOW. Today I took it pretty easy and just did a quick yoga video when I got home from work. I am trying to take it easy this week since the half marathon is Saturday!! Dun, dun, dun…I’m excited and nervous.

The training actually went better than I thought. I remember back when I first decided I was going to run it and completed a 6 mile run that felt IMPOSSIBLE. That run was definitely the most difficult out of all my “longer” runs. It had to have been the heat that day, and I am thankful that each Saturday long run the weather was basically perfect. I know that aided me in those runs.  The longest run I have completed is just about 10 miles which I did 3 weekends in a row. My sister and I were able to complete the majority of these runs together so it was also nice having a running buddy by my side.

 

me

 

The hardest part about the longer runs was just my legs being tired. I’ve come to tell myself that yes, your legs are tired and ache a little bit, but it won’t get much worse AND you get to eat whatever you want once you finish. That’ll definitely get me to finish it out :). I also like to think about the miles I have left to run, instead of the ones I already ran. For example, it feels better to think to myself, “now I’m just going for a 6 mile run” rather than, “oh my gosh I’ve only ran 4 miles.” I guess I’m learning the mental part of running longer distances is a big component. I would like to point out that I don’t really push myself to go fast and always take the runs at a slow pace. My only goal for this race is to run the whole time!

How was your work out today? What things do you think about to keep you motivated during your runs? I’ll be sure to update once the race is over!

2 thoughts on “WIOW

Leave a Reply

