Thanksgiving Day

momma

Thanksgiving is one of the best holidays in my book. I’ve noticed I have come to appreciate it more as I have gotten older. When I was younger I didn’t appreciate all the food and sometimes found the day to be “boring.” Even though the Thanksgivings in this household have been exactly the same since I can remember, I have come to embrace the low-key and relaxed holiday. We usually start out watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving day parade, while smelling the delicious food my mom has going in the kitchen. It’s pretty sad that I still don’t know some of her recipes. I need to get on that! I did, however make the pumpkin pies this year and they came out great if I do say so myself. Anyway, this year I missed out on the Thanksgiving day parade because I was volunteering with my sister (monitoring a bounce house full of crazy kids). Around mid afternoon my grandparents come over and drinks start to get poured and the table begins to be set. Then we dig in, lay around, make coffee, eat pie. Maybe throw a trip to the movies in there. That would be our Thanksgiving in a nutshell. I really can’t imagine it being any different.

should have gotten a picture before, it was a pretty bird

The thing I love most about Thanksgiving is that it kicks off the holiday season. I’m one of the many in this world that annoyingly  loves Christmas lights, scarves, peppermint mocha’s, santa, christmas music, and the list goes on. I’m always a happy girl during this time of year. There is one thing that I’m a little bit less than thrilled about this Christmas season. Having a full-time internship/job. You mean to tell me I am getting Christmas Eve and Christmas Day off and that is IT? I’m so used to the full-time student schedule that not having a month off this year is going to be, well…depressing. Maybe it won’t be as rough as I think? 😉

What are your Thanksgiving day traditions? Do you still have leftovers? Ours were gone within two days, I guess that’s a good thing!

Happy Holiday season, friends!

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Day

Leave a Reply

