American Mud Race

Do you ever have those days where you feel like you can’t wake up? Aren’t they the worst? Today has been like that for me. I’ve felt like I have been in a haze all day! I’m blaming it on “hurricane” Isaac. It didn’t get me out of work or responsibilities, it only made traveling annoying and my hair frizzier. Let there be sun! Okay, time to complain about something else…MY BODY IS STILL SORE!

Funny Workplace Ecard: The hurricane isn't coming anywhere near here but I say we evacuate anyway.

This past Saturday I participated in the American Mud Race with my sister, Kristin. It was held in Orlando and I was lucky enough to get a free admission thanks to Kristin! We decided the week of we would participate together and HOLY CRAP we did not know what we were in for.  I was thinking it would be tougher than a typical race, I mean we were going to be in mud and there would be obstacles involved, but it was a lot more difficult than I anticipated. Running in mud is no joke. We did have plenty of laughs, though. There is just something hilarious about pulling your sister out of a knee-deep mile of mud.  I think the nice gentleman at the Starbucks drive-thru also had some good laughs when he served two mud covered girls.

Yes, that is fire.

Some of the obstacles included plowing through hanging tires, hoisting yourself over plywood that was probably 12ft tall, swimming in mucky water, and climbing massive hay barrels. All while running in the mud in between obstacles. Doesn’t that sound like a dream? I still can’t believe we did it.

What I loved about the race:

  • it was different
  • it was challenging
  • the atmosphere was exciting
  • the sponsors were great
  • free beer ticket for completing the race
  • a cute t-shirt
  • feeling like a complete bad ass

What I didn’t love:

  • the initial muddiness
  • my ankles twisting when landing in the mud while running
  • the SORENESS, ohmigosh my arms
  • getting sulfur water sprayed in my face

All in all it was an awesome event and I’m glad Kristin and I sucked it up and went. We felt so hard-core the rest of the day. Yeah, we ran in mud and jumped over high things. We are strong! We are Women! 😉

One thought on “American Mud Race

  1. Pingback: Mindless Monday | A Frizzy Life

Leave a Reply

